Last night was a bit frustrating I utilize…

Last night was a bit frustrating. I utilize LogMeIn to work from home on my iPad when traveling. It’s a great tool when working on the road. But for some reason, last night it kept “disconnecting” me.

Obviously, as the cloud becomes more and more prevelant, we need to be sensative to the idea that the cloud may not be “working”. 99.99% uptime sounds great, but it still represents about an hour of “downtime” each year. But downtime is generally never linear.

For example, last night, I could work for about 10 or 15 minutes at a time, then get disconnected. The downtime might have only been for 10 or so seconds at a time, but it was enough to disconnect my session.

What does this mean? Obviously, I will need to plan on always having the next day’s presentations with me before leaving the office. Also, it makes me nervous when I rely on a service that isn’t available – so I need to plan that the service will not always be there.

So with that, my plan is as follows:

1) DropBox – I plan on having all of my presentation files sync’d there, even “works in progress”. Since the files are sync’d automatically, I should have them updated at least once a day. So even if the service is down, I should have a recent copy on my iPad or Laptop.

2) Virtual Machine demo environment – I plan on making a small VM image for my Demo’s, and also sync’ing it via DropBox. Again, this should sync down and provide me with the most recent copy, available offline on my laptop if LogMeIn is down.

With these two fixes in place, I feel it won’t matter if LogMeIn is down for a bit. I can still be fairly functional through out the day, until the “internet hiccup” or service issue is resolved.

Note: This morning, LogMeIn is working just fine…