What is Social CRM? This seems to be one of those questions that does not have a right or wrong answer.

I had given this question some thought recently, but had put it on the back burner. Then today, every single CRM website and blog in the world is reporting on the acquisition of Radian6 by Salesforce.com. So I decided to see if I could wrap my head around Social CRM.

The nearest I can come to a definition is to say Social CRM is what your customers are talking about. The IT guys are talking IT. Your marketing folks are talking marketing. See how social CRM could mean something different to each individual.

I read somewhere that Radian6 has the ability to capture hundreds of millions of conversations each day across the various social media sites. So with all this data being captured and analyzed, I’m guessing that you could get a glimpse of what the various circles of interests are discussing amongst themselves.

I’m still trying to figure out how this is CRM’ish and not plain ole data mining? When you find a definitive answer please let me know.